My Fix for the STOP: 0x0000008E (0xC0000005... BSOD / REBOOT

Comments

• edited May 2009
    Hi Troll
    first of all I am a system builder but not a programmer so all error code baffle me.
    A customer called me and asked for a format and reinstall XP OS so I did the c format and started installing XP only to find it wont find the HDD saying in the partion section

Unknown disk
    (There is no disk in this drive.)
    4 times:eek3:
    when I press enter to set up this is the error code

0x0000008E (0xc0000005,0xF7418CAD,0xF6FSS7E4,0x00000000)
    going outta my mind here even tried the usual RAM checks etc any suggestions?
    :shakehead
  • trolltroll Windsor, Nova Scotia Icrontian
    edited May 2009
    Hi Riston

The 4 Unknown Disk messages would be from a card reader, unplug it till you get windows installed or you might end up with windows on drive H. It probably cant find the main HD as it's most likely SATA on an AHCI chipset. You'll have to slipstream in the driver or load it off floppy.

Thrax has good info for slipstreaming the drivers.

Download this package: here
    Follow the chart on this page: here
  • edited June 2009
    hi troll..
    would u please teach me the step by step process of fixing this 8E error? the thing is i cant start windows since my laptop keeps on rebooting.. i cant even start safe mode..

wel, i just know the basic stuff so please bear with me
  • willschillinwillschillin 18944
    edited June 2009
    I just had this on a client PC Dell Dimension....it ended up being bad memory - RMA from dell one Dimm chip. The dell diag CD gave an error code and everything several times. I would either get BSOD 0x000000F4 or 0x0000008E.

The PC was doing an update while the chip was bad, this corrupted the OS even though I could bot in and log on, I could not fix the issue without reloading the PC.

Flaky memory ended up corrupting files within the OS during an update...who would have thought.
    edited June 2009
    alexy87 wrote: