Vista...dismal game performance.

scottscott Medina, Ohio Icrontian
edited November 2006 in Science & Tech
I was not sure where to put this , here or in gaming. But I feel it is more a "Windows" topic than a game topic.

I have been playing with Vista for a couple of months now. Mostly, I like it a lot. There are a few issues I hope will be resolved before they ask us to give up $400 for it.
This issue is likley to be helped by better driver support, but from what I am hearing it will never be the game platform XP was. Especially for lower end systems.

Here is what I have found. The following comparison was done on the same dual boot machine all hardware specs are identical only the OS and Forceware version changed between benchmarks. The hardware is as follows.
Abit NF7
Mobile Barton 2500+ @ 2.4 Ghz ( 200 x 12 ) Watercooled
2 x 512 mb OCZ PC3200 EL
Nvidia 6800 GT
Vista drivers are the latest Forceware 96.85
XP drivers are Forceware 81.98

I had noticed that while gaming the Vista performance was pretty "Stuttery" while playing Area 51 and the cut scenes between levels were un-watchable. I did not benchmark Area 51.
I then loaded F.E.A.R. and it has its own Benchmark. After using the "Auto detect" feature to set video options I ran the Benchmark in both OS's. Interestingly the Vista "Auto Detect" picked medium to low settings for everything while the XP Pro "Auto Detect" picked medium to high for the same options. XP even gave me some AA & AF ( 2X ) while Vista gave me none. As You can see from the screen shots below that XP kicked Vista's butt. And while these are not any "great" benchies it is a farly typical gaming rig. F.E.A.R. is perfectly playable at the settings and frame rates XP delivered. Not so in Vista , as soon as it gets a little hairy (like someone shooting at you) frame rates drop to the low teens and you die.