Help with Dreamweaver 8

TroganTrogan London, UK
edited April 2007 in Internet & Media
I downloaded (about a week ago) the 30 day free trial of Dreamweaver 8 and this is my very first time using it.

I want to create a banner, similar to SM (in size), but I don't know what the size is or if there is a standard size that should be used. Can anyone help me here please?

Thanks in advance! :)

Comments

• Sledgehammer70Sledgehammer70 California Icrontian
    edited March 2007
    banner? the forum banner?

The forums top image or logo is 504 x 100 but the header will exspand to your web page size.

The SM Home page logo is slightly smaller coming in a 441 x 88 ...

The Home Page layout is 950 pixels wide
  • TroganTrogan London, UK
    edited March 2007
    I'm off to a start. Thanks Sledge! :)

I'll be back with other questions. :D
  • primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited March 2007
    Are you sure Dreamweaver is what you need to be using? Banners are generally done in Photoshop or Imageready (or fireworks if you're a [the artist formerly known as macromedia] junkie)
    edited March 2007
    The banner is being created in Photoshop. :)
  • LincLinc Owner Detroit Icrontian
    edited March 2007
    The Home Page layout is 950 pixels wide
    Yes, but it's important to note the main content area is only 700 pixels wide to stay well within the bounds of a 800x600 monitor :)

A tiny (less than 10 pixels wide) sliver of vertical gradient is repeated across the background of the header to create the fill. The logos are actually on top of that, and have an identical gradient on them to blend in. On the forum, the logos also sit on the sides to create that beveled effect easily. On the front page, however, a separate div element with a horizontally repeating gradient takes care of that effect.
    edited March 2007
    How can I add an audio clip to Dreamweaver?
  • KentigernKentigern Milton Keynes UK
    edited March 2007