XBOX 360 wireless alternative

RADARADA Apple Valley, CA Member
edited March 2009 in Gaming
Does anything work better than the $100 USB wireless adapter???

Found a Cisco/Linksys adapter, but I have no experience with it..

Wouldn't a bridge thru the network port be faster?

Comments?

Thx!

R

Comments

• CycloniteCyclonite Tampa, Florida Icrontian
    edited February 2009
    I'd grab a WRT54G2, install DD-WRT on it and put it in client bridge mode. It works amazingly well.
  • RADARADA Apple Valley, CA Member
    edited February 2009
    Cyclonite wrote:
    I'd grab a WRT54G2, install DD-WRT on it and put it in client bridge mode. It works amazingly well.

I have an old (circa 2006) WRT54G (not sure of the version) at home. Is this router too old?

If not, I'll try it tonight...
  • RWBRWB Icrontian
    edited February 2009
    That WRT54G will work just fine ;)
    edited February 2009
    RWB wrote:
    That WRT54G will work just fine ;)

Well, I wasn't so successful...

I tried flashing my old WRT54GS v1.1 and I now have a lovely blue and black paperweight on my desk..... The unit is totally bricked..... dim flashing power light, can't ping it at all.

It was 4 or 5 years old , so I'm not too peeved.. ..just not sure what happened... followed the directions to the letter.....
  • kryystkryyst Ontario, Canada
    edited February 2009
    How to unbrick a linksys router

http://www.barik.net/archive/2004/12/03/220751/
    edited February 2009
    kryyst wrote:

I'll walk through this tutorial tonight, but I've already tried opening the router and jumping pins 15 & 16 on the flash memory to no avail.

After the firmware upgrade I had a bright, fast flashing power light and no ping or access..

...after jumping the flash I now have a dim flashing power light and no ping or access....

But I guess it can't get any worse, so I'll try jumping it again tonight....
    edited February 2009