What's your story?

MarushkaMarushka cambridge, ma Icrontian
edited August 2009 in Lifestyle
Hi, I'm Laura... and I am a photographer.

(unison: "Hi, Laura")

1) Why do I take photos?
I like telling stories, and I think the coolest thing about photography as an art form is that a viewer at any other moment in time could look at it and smile, or identify, or be interested, or be left thinking. 2 people that are separated in time or in space or that have never even met have an opportunity to share something. I am not, and will not be, a professional photographer, but i've realized that I love it, therefore I am a photographer.

2) What do I want to improve on?
I would really like to learn and improve on my technical photography skills so I can use it better as a medium for the above. I have already seen the ways that small technical improvements enhance my photos (all with grateful thank yous to the icrontic community's suggestions). I have a point and shoot camera, so the improvements that I can make are in things like composition, lighting, creativity, post-processing, and other things i haven't thought of but you guys can suggest. For the most part, if you smile when you see a picture I took, that's everything I could want.

3) Why do I post to the challenge?
Its a chance to publish creative projects that I am proud of. Its a constant reminder to keep challenging myself. I have learned more in the last week by posting my photos than I ever have. I have gotten very valuable feedback from people that take incredibly admirable photos. It's a place where I can let loose some creative energy that would otherwise sit dormant. It's an excuse to get up and do something physical and engaging and interesting at the end of the day instead of play on addictinggames.com.