What coding language should I learn?

V-PV-P State College, PA Member
edited June 2011 in Internet & Media
I have a summer full of free time and it's a good time to do something productive. I want to learn something that would be helpful at some point in my life. I want to stick web development. I know next to nothing (other then some basic HTML) about coding so you can consider me an absolute noob. What do you think would be a good place to start?

Comments

• PirateNinjaPirateNinja Icrontian
    edited June 2011
    HTML5 and Javascript. :D
  • V-PV-P State College, PA Member
    edited June 2011
    Know any good sites to start learning? After a quick google search I found tons of sites that look like they'd all be helpful so I guess what I'm asking what are your preferred websites? I like to stay away from tutorials that teach me how to do SPECIFIC things like an HTML5 photo gallery just because what I learn from it is very limited.
  • ButtersButters CA Icrontian
    edited June 2011
    tizag.com
    w3schools.com
    edited June 2011
    Lynda.com is awesome. Otherwise I'd roll over to the local bookstore and pick up a couple books that look like they appeal to your learning style.
  • CBCB Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ Der Millionendorf- Icrontian
    edited June 2011
    I'd start by learning Pseudocode
  • sharkydartsharkydart KY Icrontian
    edited June 2011
    Php is probably the best and easiest language for you to learn on your own. The online documentation for it, and the typically associated technologies (setting up Apache and mysql servers) doesn't really get any better. Look up information on coding methods and best practices as well. Read up on Object-Oriented Development, and google "obfuscated code" to see what variables and code structure shouldn't look like.