[BLOG] The roots of evangelism

KhaosKhaos New Hampshire
edited November -1 in Community
Peel back my bark, slice me in two, and you'll find a cross-section of contrasting rings dating back to my childhood some twenty-four revolutions ago.

The ninth ring sees the definition become clear. The order, if you will. Without apparent causation, the chaotic, asymmetrical bands of life form a recognizable pattern of exponential growth.

This was the revolution of BASIC. The season in which I started programming.

Like many upstart programmers, I cut my teeth on BASIC DOS console applications. The notion that I could write text into a computer and cause it to respond to my every whim enthralled me, and continues to.

I languished in BASIC for many rings, not knowing that I was not so firmly rooted as I might have once thought. Not knowing that my roots were in fact legs, and that these legs could and would carry me to places yet unknown.

By the time the seasons had seen eleven of my rings form, the Internet was gaining momentum. America Online was beginning to gain ground in the forest of information technology, and widespread adoption of this new communications platform had taken hold of the surrounding fauna.

Not one to sit by the wayside, I threw my foliage into the fray and began to explore what would become the new soil of the Earth; Hypertext Markup Language.

In addition to exploring these newfound Internet-enabled whimsies, I discovered that BASIC had grown up in my absence. A new form of command was available, a form promising a new vision. A visuality, if you will. Visual BASIC.

By now, three orderly rings had taken shape in a sort of functional cocoon of knowledge surrounding the chaos of my earlier revolutions. The trees that formed my stand had all adapted to the new soil. The new Earth. America Online.