Tech illustration?

Straight_ManStraight_Man Geeky, in my own wayNaples, FL Icrontian
edited August 2012 in Lifestyle
Let me preface this by saying that I am not a professional photographer and probably will never be able to afford to be one. Nor do I travel a lot to need a landscape type photo camera.

But I am starting to do a little photo illustration of tech stuff to go with articles I am writing for my blog and tech knowledge site. You can find a link to my site in my profile.

So, I need to blow up big, with quality, pics of increasingly small stuff. And my budget for a good tool for this is about $250.00 shipped with accessories due to extreme budget constraints.

I have an 8 MP with 3X optical zoom camera. Point-and-shoot. I wanted something that would be in the 14-16 MP range, higher quality optical glass lense, optical zoom of 10X or greater. For retail, this is an impossible task. Such a camera costs 3-4 hundred dollars shipped or more.

However, Nikon was changing to new models of camera. So I started looking at reviews on Amazon and Newegg. Finally Amazon dropped the price of a Nikon Coolpix S8200 to about 270.00 and I started watching the price closely. When Amazon got the price down to 207.99 with free slow shipping and had 15 left, I bought what 300+ people had given an average of a 4 star review rating.

I wonder if I could have done better for the price range , some, and would like to see what other folks use for magnified blowups that are optical zoomed by the camera. I know Kwitko has a hugely photophile's camera and will probably frown at using less than the best, but I cannot afford the best or close to it.

This was long, but I had to explain and Prime did not want a review, suggested a thread instead, so here is one.

Comments

• If you need blown up pictures of small things here is what you do not need:

--Any sort of zooming capability at all--
    --High megapixels--

You just need an average point and shoot digital camera.