If geeks love it, we’re on it

Howdy, Stranger!

You found the friendliest gaming & tech geeks around. Say hello!

Considering a career change

Cliff_ForsterCliff_Forster Baltimore, MD Icrontian
edited Jun 2013 in The Pub
So here is the deal. I'm 38 in the midst of a long standing mid life crisis.

I have worked at the same mid sized company for 13 years, have great retirement benefits, four weeks vacation, I'm not jumping ship now. I'm looking for a career switch internally, but there is some vested interest in keeping me where I'm at. Still, every day I sit at my desk I can feel myself dying inside just a little more. I need to do something new.

I've decided to just educate myself where I'm interested so I have options. Hopefully internally, but if not?

It may come as a surprise, I have no IT degree or formal training. I'm entirely self taught. I've fixed PC's on the side with some success, but starting my own full time business is too risky.

I want to obtain some certifications that will make me marketable for a career in IT. I've heard bad things about some of the online schools though. Getting a four year computer science degree, probably not feasible for me right now, I would prefer a program that can help me be marketable at least in some entry level position in a year or so? Am I dreaming, or do such programs exist?

Comments

• AnnesAnnes Tripped Up by Libidos and Hubris Alexandria, VA Icrontian
    edited Jun 2013
    What, exactly, do you want to do? What are you doing now? Do you want to get into *nix administration, windows administration, DB administration, networking, project management? "IT" is just so incredibly generic and there are SO many certifications out there a bit more clarification would go a long way.
    PirateNinja
  • TushonTushon I'm scared, Coach Alexandria, VA Icrontian
    edited Jun 2013