A bit of PHP help

CBCB Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄ƷDer Millionendorf- Icrontian
edited April 2014 in Internet & Media

I've never worked with PHP before. I usually just write all my pages in old-school HTML. If you couldn't tell from the minimalism. I need a place for people to sign up for a newsletter now though (since Facebook is now completely useless for letting people know what's going on with my projects), and for that I need a bit of PHP, but it's not working quite right.

So, I've got this on the html page:

<form name="contactform" method="post" action="form.php"> <table width="450px"> <tr> <td valign="top"> <label for="email">Email Address</label> </td> <td valign="top"> <input type="text" name="email" maxlength="80" size="30"> </td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="2" style="text-align:center"> <input type="submit" value="Submit"> </td> </tr> </table> </form>

and this in form.php, which I wrote while teaching myself from examples on the web:

<?php
if(isset($_POST['email'])) 
{
    $email_to = "form@manawaker.com";
    $email_subject = "Newsletter subscribe";

// error code 
function died($error) 
    {
    echo "Something was wrong with the form you submitted.";
    die();
    }

// validation 
  if(!isset($_POST['email'])) 
    {
    died('Something was wrong with the form you submitted.');       
    }

// form field
    $email_from = $_POST['email']; 
    $error_message = "";
    $email_exp = '/^[A-Za-z0-9._%-]+@[A-Za-z0-9.-]+\.[A-Za-z]{2,4}$/';
  if(!preg_match($email_exp,$email_from)) 
    {
    $error_message .= 'That is not an email address.<br />';
    }
  if(strlen($error_message) > 0) 
    {
    died($error_message);
    }

// message
$email_message = "Form details below.\n\n";
  function clean_string($string) 
    {
    $bad = array("content-type","bcc:","to:","cc:","href");
    return str_replace($bad,"",$string);
    }
  $email_message .= "Email: ".clean_string($email_from)."\n";

// email headers
$headers = 'From: '.$email_from."\r\n".