WoW will be around for another 10 years

primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' BoopinDetroit, MI Icrontian

Pretty cool interview in PC Gamer about World of Warcraft.

Comments

• Holy crap, I've been playing one game for almost 10 years. I remember the day I bought it; I was at fry's and as a poor college student, I was trying to justify buying the collectors version. 10 years later and I'm still kicking myself for not doing it. Also sometimes wish I never bought it, but then I wouldn't be here typing in this forum would I?

I'm so excited for Warlords. And the next expansion and the one after that.

There is a point in that article that I don't think some wow players understand.

While there's no lack of statistics pointing to a declining subscriber base, the truth of the matter is that even in decline, World of Warcraft is head and shoulders above its competition

Even when wow was at it's lowest subscriber base there was still millions more people playing it than any other game in the mmo genre. If you go to the wow forums (don't it's a cesspool) all you hear is "the sky is falling! the sky is falling!" and "people are quitting for x and y reasons and the game is dying". What those people don't realize is that the lowest wow pop server still has more players than some mmos that are still in business.

midga
  • ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited October 2014

Been playing off and on since beta (fall 2004).

Played an Orc Warlock (Beta+Pre-raids+MC+BWL), Gnome Warrior (BWL Fury+AQ OT+Naxx OT), Blood Elf Holy Paladin (BC+WotLK) and Draenei Enhancement Shaman (Cata+MOP) in progression raiding. It's been a wild ride.

• primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian

I started right at the end of BC, played Wrath, started the Icrontic guild, then stopped for years.

My only regret is that I stopped for so many years.

• RahnalH102RahnalH102 the Green Devout, Veteran Monster Hunter, Creature Enthusiast New Mexico Icrontian