Its been fun, but now, its time....

citrixmetacitrixmeta Montreal, Quebec Icrontian
edited July 2003 in Hardware
i have been running AMD for a few years now, But now its try new things.

here are the specs of my new rig.

INTEL PENTIUM 4 P4 2.6GHZ C 512K 800FSB S478 HT RETAIL BOX

ABIT IS7 S478 865PE ATX DUAL DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1394 SOUND LAN

CORSAIR TWINX512-3200LL PC3200 2X256MB DDR 2-3-2 SILVER HEAT SPREADER

r9700pro

bla bla.

HT enabled.
according to many reviews, i should be hitting 3.2ghz with this setup with a stock HSF

Comments

• EnverexEnverex Worcester, UK Icrontian
    edited July 2003
    KILL HIM, BLASPHAMY!
    TREASON! WITCH!
    *cough*

Anyway, sounds good.

Though wouldnt a single 512MB stick be better than 2x256's? More expansion capability and its easier to hit higher speeds with a single stick as opposed to multiple sticks.... normally....

NS
  • citrixmetacitrixmeta Montreal, Quebec Icrontian
    edited July 2003
    this board has 4 mem slots, and i wanna take advantage of the dual channel.

mobo.jpg
  • CCWCCW Suffolk, UK
    edited July 2003
    Very nice, those 800MHz FSB chips rule !

let us know how you get on.

Craig
  • edited July 2003
    Nightshade--

The 2 256's in this case (or 2 512's) would yeild DUAL Channel DDR SDRAM access with this board, one BANK per channnel not Dual Channel per stick so to speak. So, what was said for AMD is TRUE, but for this gen chipset with Intel and the 875p Intel chipset is false.

In this case, one stick yeilds single channel 512. Two sticks yeilds 256 per channel total 512 if each stick is on a separate channel. Sockets 1 and 3 and sockets 2 and 4 are in each channel, 1 and 4 or 2 and 3 or 1 and 2 would have one stick on each channel and I do not have a manual for that mobo to tell me which is best.