looking for a program

DogDragonDogDragon Jacksonville, Fl Icrontian
edited February 2008 in Science & Tech
Comcast is pissing me off I tell them that their modem
reset it's self and they say it's shows on theirs side find.
I say it's not fine and they say have you dropped any calls?
My modem works the telephone and internet so what I'm
looking for is a program that records when my connection is
lost or the modem resets.
Is there something like that?
I know it's not the pcs I unplugged them from it and it stills
does it. 3 times a day at least I saw it reset at least that.
So I want a way to record it so I can show them.
Till I show them they won't do anything about the
modem.

Comments

• DogDragonDogDragon Jacksonville, Fl Icrontian
    edited February 2008
    no one knows a program to do this?
  • sharkydartsharkydart KY Icrontian
    edited February 2008
    I'm not an expert by any means in this area; I'm just taking a guess at what you could do... Do you have a router in between your computer(s) and the modem? I'm not sure, but you may be able to have such a router keep a log (if it doesn't already automatically do so).
  • JBJB Carlsbad, CA
    edited February 2008
    if you are running linux/cygwin you could continuously ping Comcast's server every 10 seconds in the background. For example:

ping -i 10 www.comcast.com >> pingresults.txt &

You can probably do the same with the windows ping utility, I'm just not sure of the flags.
  • edited February 2008
    Your modem should be able to log this stuff on it's own, should tell you why it's disconnecting (if it actually is) too.
    edited February 2008
    rapture wrote:
    Your modem should be able to log this stuff on it's own, should tell you why it's disconnecting (if it actually is) too.

I'm losing the connection for like 30 seconds while
    the modem resets.
    How do I find it's logs?
    sharkydart wrote: