My First Go At Cable Managment!

RichDRichD Essex, UK
edited January 2009 in Hardware
Hello People,

Im pretty new to these parts of the forum but as I had my PC in bits tonight I thought I would make my first attempt at a spot of cable managment! I have never really bothered before and it has usually just been a case of plug stuff in and it will do.

I have an Antec 900 case which a lot of people speak very highly of. I have to say as a case it is quite nice but in terms of cable management I found it pretty tricky. A lot of people seemed to be recomending running cables behind the motherboard but as it has no removable MB tray and only 3 tiny holes (one of which is under the MB) it was a little tricky to do this.

Also the large drive bays made life quite difficult as they are basically 5.25" racks which the 3.5" bays fit into so there is no room around them.

My rig originally consisted of the basic bones of the system plus two SATA drives 3.5" Floppy drive, CD Drive and Fan Controller.

The biggest area I wanted to improve on was the fan cabling. The 900 has two 120mm intakes on the front, one 120mm exhaust on the rear and a 200mm exhaust on the top. This was quite a bit of cable to run.

Unfortunately I didn't take any pictures before I started as I was dismantling the system to mount a new HD which I had taken from an external drive and it wasn't until I was halfway through unplugging stuff I decided to do the tidy.

The "new" HD is an IDE drive which was previously an External Firewire drive. I have been having a few problems with it and as I only use it for back up storage I decided to mount it internally. This gave me the first problem This drive is IDE and all the rest are SATA. This meant either I had to mount it down with the other HDs and run two bulky IDE cables (one for CD and one for HD) or mount it near the CD and use one cable.