ICYBOX IB350 USB2.0/SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure

2»

Comments

• BuddyJBuddyJ Dept. of Propaganda OKC Icrontian
    edited September 2008
    There are two versions of what he linked YAD. One is IDE and one is SATA. He didn't give us the full product code to differentiate between the two. I'm only guessing that that's what our hero is trying to do.
  • edited September 2008
    It says 3.5" sata hdd on the box. I have been in touch with hitachi and they say that it does not need to be set to master or slave (these new hdd do not need it). They suggest that i install it through bios. Now how the hell does that work? I am not very technical when it comes to the workings of a computer, I just know how to use the programmes. Any help (and diagrams) would be very much appreciated.
  • GargGarg Purveyor of Lincoln Nightmares Icrontian
    edited September 2008
    "Installing through BIOS" doesn't mean anything to me; the Hitachi rep could have been confused and thought you weren't using an enclosure. Exactly what problem are you having? I'm not sure setting the drive to Master (which, if it's an SATA drive, there is no setting to be changed) is what you need to be doing.

When the drive is installed in the enclosure and you plug it in to your running computer, what happens? Are you running Windows or Mac OSX?
  • edited September 2008
    Wheni attached the icy box thru usb my laptop (windows xp pro) it loaded drivers. My hdd dows not show on My Computer but does show in Control Panel (Devices). No matter what I do it will not come up and I need to partition and format the drive for it to work. This for for running all formats of movies thru my tv. I told hitachi that their hdd was in an Icy Box enclosure. I am beginning to think that I have spent over £100 on something that is never going to work. If it is to work thru BIOS then I need to know how to do it.
  • ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited September 2008
    legweak wrote: