Will my computer run Guild Wars?

Southern-OtakuSouthern-Otaku South Fulton, TN
edited April 2011 in Hardware
i recently went to the can you run it site to see if my computer was up to par to play guild wars. it said i was above minimum but not yet to recommended. i was half way to that. is this goin to be a huge hindrance? it said my video card should be better. id appreciate any comments and feedback as im close to buyin this game.

Comments

• primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited April 2011
    What kind of hardware do you have? Post your specs.

Also: welcome to Icrontic :)
  • Southern-OtakuSouthern-Otaku South Fulton, TN
    edited April 2011
    see, as far as computers go, im a novice. maybe even below lol. i do know its an older model. would optiplex sx280 help? sorry lol. and thanks :D this website is great.
  • ardichokeardichoke Icrontian
    edited April 2011
    Dells site w/ system specs: http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/opsx280/en/ug/specs.htm

Guild wars isn't a very taxing game... with the base specs on that box though I wouldn't expect it to play much more than solitaire. You can probably pick up a lower-end PCI express video card and get away with playing Guild Wars (I remember I used to play it on my Athlon XP 1800+ back in the day). Any gaming beyond that and you should really invest in a newer computer though. Even a $500 system would be a huge upgrade compared to what you have.
    edited April 2011
    yea, this was bought at an auction without diving too far into the specs. this was a big mistake on my part. a friend brought to my attention that some pc's cant have their video cards changed. with what little info i gave can it be determined if i can or not? i'd just save up and buy another but i'd feel stupid because i just bought this one. again, i really appreciate the feedback. its hard to find forums with people willing to help rather than bashin someone for mistakes of noobishness lol