Your first WASD game

fatcatfatcat Mizzou Icrontian
edited September 2011 in Gaming
I'm pretty sure mine was Half-Life. I had just gotten a Voodoo3 and could play Half-Life in Glide (Best API ever)

I started the tutorial and was very much OMGWTFBBQ, "why can't I use the arrow keys, what is this left hand crap?!"

Now, 13 years later, I pretty much only play WASD games, and if the default controls are not WASD, I make them that way.

What about you?

Comments

• MyrmidonMyrmidon Baron von Puttenham California Icrontian
    edited September 2011
    Unreal Tournament 2003. At my first LAN party with Cannonfodder, a DIFFERENT guy named 'jimmah!', and two other people I hadn't met - these guys pretty much made high school bearable for me. I was a high school freshman. We played a metric ton of Bombing Run in the Icefields, then switched to the original Ghost Recon. GR co-op multiplayer? Tons of fun.

Up until then, I had only played single player (usually RTS or RPG) games, and flight sims. I was huge into flight sims.

Cheers to that Cannonfodder SOB. :)

EDIT: Oh man, I'm totally nostalgia-ing right now. Dammit fatcat! :)
  • ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited September 2011
    Quake 2.
  • RootWyrmRootWyrm Icrontian
    edited September 2011
    Catacomb 3-D. You get bonus points if you've even -heard- of it, more if you can name names of successors and developers.
  • ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited September 2011
    The Catacomb Abyss was better.
  • TimTim Southwest PA Icrontian
    edited September 2011
    WoW and Team Fortress 2 were my first WASD games, and when Starcraft 2 came out with customisable key bindings in patch 1.2, I set up WASD to move the map around. Works really good.

Before that I had to slide the keyboard way to the left, use my left hand on the arrow keys, and reach over to 1,2,3, and 4 for hotkeyed groups. Not optimum, like my new setup.
  • PirateNinjaPirateNinja Icrontian
    edited September 2011