The Complete Newbie's Guide to Mobiles

RahnalH102RahnalH102 the Green Devout, Veteran Monster Hunter, Creature EnthusiastNew Mexico Icrontian
edited April 2012 in Science & Tech
Straight up, I don't know !@#$ about mobiles. I've never really needed a personal phone for not much other then emergencies and necessity. That dropped to just emergencies once I was able to drive. Even now, hundreds of miles away from family and friends, I still barely use my cell.

However the times be a-changing and the valid reasons for me to upgrade keep piling up. So I want to adapt or at least be ready to adapt to this change.

I have questions for just about every aspect of "deh mobile" and would greatly appreciate any answers.

Info on me: I'm a digital artist in training. I'll likely being using the phone to test apps/designs/layouts/communicate with co-workers/bosses/clients. Social needs ... not so much. Can it call home and friends? That's all I need. Starving artist can also be thrown in there so the cheaper the plan the better.

Questions:

Providers: Since I want to be more independent and not such a burden on my parents (as far as I'm concerned I owe them a !@#$-ton o' cash,) I want a provider of my own. I'll worry about exact prices. Mainly just want to know typical plans available? Which devices are supported? Which do you prefer?

Models and OSs: Not even sure where to begin here. I know there is iOS for Apple related products. Android for Google related products. Blackberries and Windows. I'm not too sure of the differences, price ranges, capabilities and limitations. I guess a good question would just be which do you prefer and why?

General Mobile Knowledge: i.e. the technical terms (da heck does 4g mean,) typical scams/"pay us more" tactics providers may pull, how do hotspots work, etc.

I throw myself at your feet, so that you may make a responsible and informed mobile user out of me, and hopefully help out any future readers.

Comments