Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 and the AMD GPU support conundrum

primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' BoopinDetroit, MI Icrontian
edited April 2012 in Science & Tech

Comments

• RyanMMRyanMM Ferndale, MI Icrontian
    Let's be frank - This is fucking bullshit. Since 2006, since the days when Apple admitted that their proprietary hardware could not keep pace with what AMD and Intel were churning out, there has not been a single reason for segmenting software support based on the Operating system level.

Adobe is being lazy, stupid, or asshatted depending on what level of credit you want to give their programmers. Supporting the dozens of iterations of AMD hardware on Windows versus the two iterations of AMD hardware on Apple, factoring in marketshare, I can't see a case where this makes sense except in some detached dunderheaded boardroom filled with people who couldn't tell a computer from a cash register.

I studied graphic design. I cut out of class early, leaving the Mac workstations go go home and be far more productive on my homegrown Pentium III because I realized that performance trumped platform any day of the week.

If Adobe is going to be a slave to platform and ignore performance on systems that can be host to it, they're going to leave themselves vulnerable to a competitor who's less shortsighted than they are.
  • The only people who know the technical feasibility of this are the developers at Adobe, but we can all speculate as much as we want.
  • RyanMMRyanMM Ferndale, MI Icrontian
    Let's leave the apologism to those Adobe devs, @pirateninja. We don't need to defend them by proxy.
  • UPSLynxUPSLynx :KAPPA: Redwood City, CA Icrontian
    edited April 2012