A Conundrum

aspieRommelaspieRommel Icrontic politicoIndianapolis, IN Icrontian
edited August 2015 in Lifestyle

Warning: Extremely long post.

I know this probably should belong on the "Let's Bitch About Our Jobs" thread, but I am making it separate because I need some help/advice. As some of you know, back in February, I got a job at McDonald's. I have been working there for about 6-7 months. When I was hired on, I was pretty lucky that I was able to find some cool bosses. One of them understood my passion for racing (late husband drove Bigfoot and went to a lot of races) and let me have the weekends off so I could go back to my local short track. The other gave me a list of beers and alcohol to try and keeps suggesting stuff, as well as his dad might have some old Bill Elliott collectables he might sell to me. Now, I am always one to give 100% in everything that I do, and that includes my current job. Everything was going great until recently. Boss #1, as I'll call her, has a tendency to assign and keep me in one area: the lobby. Now, when we get busy, like on the 1st of every month when everyone gets their SSI checks, there's plenty to do to keep me busy. However, towards the middle and end of the month, we get some slow hours during my shift to where there's a lack of stuff to do. When that happens, under Boss #2 or just the lower superiors, I usually shift to items that need done, like dishes, ice bags, trays, etc. However, when Boss #1 is there, one of my lower superiors can ask me to shift to something and she'll say "He needs to stay in the lobby", even though there's barely anyone in there and I've already made my rounds.