Zippo Lighters: Tricks and Fashion

HeroHero formerly known as XGPHero Icrontian
edited October 2015 in Style

I'm sure there are some icrontians who have zippos for style or for tricks. I personally, as a former smoker, really missed the classy move of lighting someone's cigarette. Carrying a disposable lighter for that purpose seemed lame. So, I found myself carrying a zippo.

My first zippo was a plain satin finish steel(may have been nickel) zippo. I noticed people really got a kick out of this old school accessory, so I upgraded to a polished steel with Venetian pattern with the word HERO engraved on it. (My last name means hero in German.) Suddenly it became about what I thought was cool, as opposed to what other people thought was cool.

So with a classy fashion accessory, (one that I felt good about carrying in my fancy suit) I started playing with it. I found youtube videos of some pretty neat but simple tricks(or as I call them, flourishes) and started learning them. Now when I have an opportunity to bust out my beautiful sterling silver Venetian pattern custom engraved zippo, I do so with some style.

So let's talk about your zippo lighters...

PS: my current favorite is a silver version of my second zippo.

BobbyDigiMt_Goat

Comments

• BobbyDigiBobbyDigi ? R U #Hats ! TX Icrontian

My Zippo is Matt Black with a Red Pinstripe on it.

I bought 'er for smoking before I learned that in my realm of smook smook, using a Zippo would risk inhaling the lighter fluid (obviously bad) so she mostly got used to light incense.

I've got down the Zippo trick rabbit hole on YouTube, some insane stuff. I got pretty good at one trick 1. Out of pocket quick flip forward 2. Swing back against leg to pop open the cap 3. Swing back forward striking with my jeans. Result was hand in pocket to lit lighter in about a second.

Makes me wonder where she is. I'll post a pic if I come across her.

-Digi

Hero
  • IlriyasIlriyas The Syrupy Canadian Toronto, Ontario Icrontian