Swoliversary

pragtasticpragtastic Alexandria, VA Icrontian

So a year ago today I started lifting. My two biggest goals were functional strength and minimized gym time. Reading through various routines I liked the sound of a program called 5/3/1 (with a beginner's twist). I also found that it utilized big, primary lifts - which happened to pair well with a thing I heard others shooting for: the "Thousand Pound Club". Whelp, now I've got a 3rd goal I guess.

Here's a quick look at the weight I was moving 1 year ago today (9/30/15):
Overhead Press: 60lbs
Deadlift: 115lbs
Bench Press: 105lbs
Squat: 125lbs

The weights were intentionally on the lighter side until I was confident that form was solid and I wasn't going to injure myself. Fast forward today and the weight that I'm moving looks more like this:
Overhead Press: 135lbs
Deadlift: 295lbs
Bench Press: 185lbs
Squat: 275lbs

I had no idea if the routine was something I would stick with... if it would really allow me to get stronger at only 3-4 hours of gym time a week. Here I stand a year later, stronger than I've ever been and confident that every single hour spent in that gym has been worth it.

BlackHawkprimesuspectRyderCantiRahnalH102GnomeQueenTushonmertesnHumerusMegAnnesGargcolaIlriyasMassalinieRyanMMChooch

Comments

• AnnesAnnes Tripped Up by Libidos and Hubris Alexandria, VA Icrontian

Are those your PRs? Or what you're repping? Will you be changing anything soon in your quest for the 1000lb club?

• LincLinc Owner Detroit Icrontian

I will judge the outcome when I visit next weekend.

_kMAGIC
  • pragtasticpragtastic Alexandria, VA Icrontian

@Annes those are rep weights. Will look into changing routine after the 1000lb target is hit (possibly in 2 weeks).

edited October 2016

Update, just completed a week of 1 Rep Maxes. Currently at squat/Dl/bench -> 335/405/215, for a total of 955. Squat and bench came out a bit under where I was hoping so I've got a little more work there.