Thai fisherman pants

LincLinc OwnerDetroit Icrontian
edited May 2017 in Style

Listen, I can explain.

I work from home and have never really taken advantage of that in my daily wardrobe selection over the last five-plus years. Every day, I put on a pair of jeans. Every day, as a martial artist, I want to stretch or throw a few kicks in the kitchen while I wait for my tea. And my god, you just can't do much in a pair of jeans. Range of motion is just abysmal and I'm sick of needing to change just to stretch my legs.

On the other hand, I truly hate sweat pants. And yoga pants. And I cannot wear my pajama pants to work; it just isn't a good mental exercise (nor are they as flexible as you'd think). Is there nothing that looks half-acceptable but will let me kick someone in the head? Is that too much to ask for? :biggrin:

Turns out, these are a thing:

They're call Thai Fisherman pants. They are very loose fitting but still made of reasonable material. They tie with a draw string, not elastic, and it's required - the drawstring is the only way they stay up at all. Then extra fabric above the drawstring folds back down over the string to hide it.

So I bought the two pairs pictured (except mine don't have those white fish - they are darker like the rest of the pattern) and so far am in love with them. I definitely wouldn't wear them out of the house to do more than walk the dog, but they are quality pants that feel like you're wearing nothing without looking like you're wearing nothing. And I look like I'm fixin' to kick someone in the head, not take a nap. :biggrin:

Comments

• BuddyJBuddyJ Dept. of Propaganda OKC Icrontian

I find a Utilikilt to be extremely liberating.

And Chuck Norris disagrees with you about the jeans.

• LincLinc Owner Detroit Icrontian

Mmmm... Chuck Norris' unique hidden gusset. I knew I'd been missing something in my life.

MAGICUPSLynx
  • ColgereColgere Cincinnati, OH Icrontian