Trying to Reason with Hurricane Season 2017 edition

13»

Comments

• edcentricedcentric near Milwaukee, Wisconsin Icrontian

storm shutters are not to block the wind, but to stop debris.
    Your neighbors lawn chair at 120mph does a lot of damage.
    I know someone that made 'fence panels' that come off of the fence and bolt over some windows.
    Using as fence gives him a place to store them.

pigflipperBlueTattooGarg
  • BlueTattooBlueTattoo Boatbuilder Houston, TX Icrontian

@edcentric said: "I know someone that made 'fence panels' that come off of the fence and bolt over some windows."

Clever! I have been storing plywood panels since 1983 (Alicia). Occasionally I use one in a project and have to scramble to replace it for the next storm. Ike blew down all the fences around here, but didn't damage the houses much. An open fence wouldn't blow down!

• pigflipperpigflipper The Forgotten Coast Icrontian

It really is a pretty brilliant idea. Maybe I will have the new fence put in with panels that are the same size as the windows at this house (all windows are the same, really weird custom dimensions thanks to it being built in 1908). If a bad storm comes, we could just bolt the panels to the poured cement frame/exterior of the house over the windows. Would be a pain in the ass for the upstairs windows, but a decent 12'-15' extension ladder should be enough.

Also, picture of said fence that was "destroyed" by the storm. Said storm was strong enough to straighten a stainless metal hook attached to a stainless 3/8" chain to keep the fence upright in event of high wind events. I guess 10 years of tropical systems (along with spring super cells) finally took their toll on the hook.

• RyderRyder Kalamazoo, Mi Icrontian

@MikQuattro is in the process of being flooded in South Carolina, I sure hope it stops rising soon.

Damn

• RyderRyder Kalamazoo, Mi Icrontian