PDA

View Full Version : Watch out - the fraudsters are at it again


primesuspect
1 May 2004, 7:50pm
Yep, they're at it again. I just got an email from "CitiBank Email Update Verification".. Here's the body of the email:

Dear Citibank Member,


This email was sent by the Citibank server to verify your E-mail
address. You must complete this process by clicking on the link
below and entering in the small window your Citibank ATM/Debit
Card number and PIN that you use on ATM.


This is done for your protection - because some of our members
no longer have access to their email addresses and we must
verify it.


To verify your E-mail address and access your bank account,
click on the link below:
https://web.da-us.citibank.com/signin/citifi/scripts/....blahblahblah


---------------------------------------

Thank you for using Citibank

---------------------------------------

The link looks like a legit CitiBank thing, but the actual link goes to a domain called infouserupdate.us ....

Be on the watch, I'm sure they'll try all kinds of bank names.....

Source: www.short-media.com

Kwitko
1 May 2004, 9:00pm
You can always check for the latest social engineering schemes at www.antiphishing.org (http://www.antiphishing.org).

Jengo
1 May 2004, 10:37pm
the damn thing doesnt even make sense! if people are trying to fraud you then why dont they at least learn some decent grammar. im not saying that i am an english expert but not even what i write is that bad..

Straight_Man
2 May 2004, 3:32am
Yep, they're at it again. I just got an email from "CitiBank Email Update Verification".. Here's the body of the email:



The link looks like a legit CitiBank thing, but the actual link goes to a domain called infouserupdate.us ....

Be on the watch, I'm sure they'll try all kinds of bank names.....

Source: www.short-media.com

They HAVE. Providian, Wells Fargo, etc, also, different messages and same idea plus some give you trojans also to data mine when you click. Ebay has had similar alerts also, that some folks have wisely sent copies to ebay's abuse handlers instead of clicking on them. AND, got one purporting to be from PayPal.

Phishers stink badly, and pfisher plus trojaning is potentially quite potent-- phisher\spammers should be removed from planet earth, IMHO. VERY good warning, Prime, thanks. If site reg is valid, you might want to forward it to bandwidth provider's abuse address along with email.

Citibank, and the others mentioned, do not send such requests in email, and so far as I know no bank does.

John D.

EyesOnly
2 May 2004, 9:07am
Thanks for the heads up. :rant: