View Full Version : OMG Phantom will you please DIAF
primesuspect
16 Dec 2008, 4:47am
OMG Phantom will you please DIAF (http://gaming.icrontic.com/news/omg-phantom-will-you-please-diaf)
After they spent a whole year trying to sue [H] and Kyle Bennett only to fail miserably, I figured they had quit honestly. They should have.
oh and this was from Penny arcade in 2003.
http://www.penny-arcade.com/images/2003/20030820l.gif
Bandrik
16 Dec 2008, 5:06am
Holy crap. I've never heard of these guys, but from your article alone... this is simply ludicrous. And you're right - if you've shot BOTH of your feet already, why shoot yourself in the groin next by using THE SAME BRANDING?!
*facepalm*
Winfrey
16 Dec 2008, 5:22am
How often can you use a word like ‘flabbergasted’ and actually mean it? That’s serious business.
;D ;D ;D bwahaha! ;D ;D ;D
Leonardo
16 Dec 2008, 5:43am
Again! They're still here? Holy smokes.
How is it that some fraudsters can be so energetic and so creative, but still just want to tear down and steal. Were they to apply the same energy to something honest, they'd probably be a huge success.
mertesn
16 Dec 2008, 1:26pm
I've never heard of these guys
This is what they're counting and capitalizing on. They lay low for a year or two and then return for a fresh victim.
Shorty
16 Dec 2008, 1:27pm
I cannot believe they are STILL around. Well I will be damned.
_Arthur
17 Dec 2008, 11:03pm
Not only they are launching the very same product, minus the console, but they are launching it in partnership with GameStreamer, whose CEO is one Timothy Roberts. Funny how things never change.
By-the-by, their download site is now down, for an undisclosed duration.
primesuspect
17 Dec 2008, 11:23pm
TIMOTHY ROBERTS is the CEO of GAMESTREAMER?
Oh the lolz never cease.
_Arthur
18 Dec 2008, 3:02am
I can even top that, Suspect.
The Phantom Game Store, whith the mark "Powered by GameStreamer" is just a skin over a standard trygame.com portal
http://www.trygames.com/
they even replaced the "Powered by ActiveMark" with their own bogus technology logo.
The downloads, the DRM, the payments are all handled by TryGames.com
Leonardo
18 Dec 2008, 5:59pm
They lay low for a year or two and then return for a fresh victim.It's understandable how consumers might get hoodwinked. There are always people entering the online market without much experience, and the stakes are relatively low. What boggles my mind is that investors will time and again fork over significant money to these lowlifes. No excuse, research is just too easy.
vBulletin® v3.8.1, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.