The Icrontic Gun Thread

12346»

Comments

• primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian

After the second time my car got broken into, a Detroit cop told me the same thing: "No alarm system is as effective as the sound of a racking shotgun. NOBODY sticks around when they hear that sound"

• JokkeJokke Bergen, Norway Icrontian

I know next to nothing about skeet shooting, but I have some experience with shotguns as a tactical weapon. We use the Benelli supernova tactical (Benelli has several shotguns in the Nova series). https://www.benelliusa.com/shotguns/nova-series.
    Fairly easy to use, and I imagine it would fit nicely for a home defence scenario, although I have next to no experience with this either.
    Ammo is a thing to consider, I see buckshot being mentioned, but I want to mention slugs. Spread is good, 'cause you have a better chance of injury or death, even with a bad shot, but you have the increased chance of damaging third parties as well. With a slug, there is one projectile hitting the target, with tremendous force. I've also heard of combination ammo, where there's one big slug and a few pellets, like a hybrid shell.
    Which brings me to my next point; practice. Sure, you could have your shotgun laying around for that rare occurence of a home invasion, but if you've never fired the thing, you sure as hell will fudge it up when your heart is racing, tunnel vision kicks in and you have no muscle memory. Make sure you fire it often. Practice loading without looking, make sure you know how the gun (and you) perform under different circumstances. Practice in light, practice in darkness, practice in sun, and practice in rain. Do pushups or jumping jacks to get your pulse racing, then do the shooting. A gun is only as good as it's shooter.