How can I get a decent suit inexpensively?

GHoosdumGHoosdum Icrontian
edited March 2013 in Style
As I've stated before, I'm in the MBA program. It's a bad situation because I'm still a poor college student, but I'm expected to dress professionally for many events. :banghead: That being said, I need a business suit. Does anyone know where I can find a well-made suit for a really good price?

Thrift shops and secondhand stores never have my size... I'm 5'10" and 130 lbs... very narrow. I wear 30-32 pants and nobody ever sells a used suit with my waist size. Nor would I really want to wear some used pants... :hair:

Currently, the best deal I can find is $100 at K&G Men's Warehouse for a new 2-piece suit. Any better deals out there?

link to that deal: http://www.kgmens.com/mens/details/index.cfm?ItemID=229#

Comments

• TheBaronTheBaron Austin, TX
    edited July 2003
    thats a pretty good price for a suit, assuming its not buttass ugly
  • Straight_ManStraight_Man Geeky, in my own way Naples, FL Icrontian
    edited July 2003
    What I do is not a suit-- decent blazer plus decent slacks. If you want to work for EDS or IBM, then possibly a suit will be needed. But a decent blazer and a couple pairs of slacks would do. That gets rid of the fees for taking pants in to fit coat right with a suit.

Did that as a student, do that today in business meetings and no problems at all with missed expectations getting in the way of a career.

That also lets you spread out your clothing expenses a bit if you have dress slacks. Buy blazer now. Slacks in addition later if needed.

Maybe look at budget clothing strategies in the old book "Dress For Success," which more conservative firms still use to show folks coming in what to look for. Note they talk about a power suit, but not for every day wear at work.

But that is a good suit price if decent looking.
  • ClutchClutch North Carolina New
    edited July 2003