Device manager says I have 2 processors

scottscott Medina, Ohio Icrontian
edited September 2003 in Hardware
Hello All
I am new to the forum. And only know enough about computers to make myself dangerous. With that said...Here is my problem.

I just finished building a new machine, It is my first attempt at a raid array. Everything runs great. But in the device manager under the hardware tab it lists 2 processers ??? On the General tab it lists one. And Sandra max 3 lists one. Is this a problem? Or just something to do with the array? There are no yellow bangs.

Here is a list of the components.
Mobo Intel D875PBZ (onboard Raid 0 ) P08 Bios
P4 3.0 Ghz 800Fsb
2 Western Digital 120Gb 7200rpm SATA drives
2 512mb DDR Pc3200 400mhz on dual channel
OS XP Pro with SP1

Any insight into this would be appreciated.
If you need more info let me know.

Thanks

Scott

Comments

• GHoosdumGHoosdum Icrontian
    edited August 2003
    The P4 3.0 probably has HyperThreading... which provides a "virtual" dual processing capability. It would show up as two processors in the CP, and I don't think that anything is wrong.

Welcome to the forums!:wave:
  • reelbigfishreelbigfish Boston, MA Member
    edited August 2003
    Not to worry my friend. Welcome to the forums. You have a new P4 with hyperthreading. That means there is one physical processor and two logial processors. It works like two but there really is only one. That is the way it should be. Enjoy the machine.
    edited August 2003
    BTW: Check out the Folding@Home forum here if you have the chance... you'd be a very welcome addition to the team! :fold:
  • scottscott Medina, Ohio Icrontian
    edited August 2003
    That would explain it.

Thanks guys !!!

Scott
  • QCHQCH Ancient Guru Chicago Area - USA Icrontian
    edited August 2003
    Scott....