too many users on my cpu

ginocerulliginocerulli Shanghai, China
edited December 2005 in Science & Tech
I hope this is in the right section, if not, please move. Thanks.

My laptop was previously used at my employment and placed upon their network. There are 5 users and an administrator. I always use the cpu as the administrator. While trying to fix my cpu virus problem I noticed BitDefender spending a very long time on the folder:
C:\Documents and Settings\(one of the users)\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files
I was unable to even find that file when I searched my cpu.
I want to empty all these files if they are taking up significant space, and perhaps if you suggest eliminate the users all together.

I am a novice and open to any suggestions you may have.

Thanks in advance for you time and help,

Gino Cerulli

Comments

• TexTex Dallas/Ft. Worth
    edited December 2005
    under folder options you need to uncheck the hide protected operating system files and then set it to show hidden files and folders.

In explorer (not internet explorer) go to tools/folder options/view

then hit apply and at the top apply to all folders

now go to the user in documents and settings directory and you will see new directorys you could not see before, Look in local settings and you can now see temporary internet files

Tex
  • ginocerulliginocerulli Shanghai, China
    edited December 2005
    Thanks Tex,

I see the files now. I imagine it is safe to delete pretty much anything in the temp folders. Any suggestions on the possibility and the value of deleting the other users?

Thanks

Gino
  • TroganTrogan London, UK
    edited December 2005
    There is no harm in deleting Temp Files - Don't delete the Temp Folders

To delete Temp Files:

Go to Start > Run > type cleanmgr, press ENTER.

Chose the C: and click OK - it will take a few mins to scan. On the next screen, check the box next to Temporary Internet Files and Temporary Files, then click OK and thats it :D