Help! 930 OC

edited February 2006 in Hardware
hi, i just set up a new rig and was trying some OC (OC newbie here)

my setup is:

Intel 930 3.0GHz
MSI 945P Neo2-F Mobo
4 x 1GB VS1GB533D2 DDR2-533 Corsair Dual Channel
MSI 7800GT 256MB PCIe

I've been trying to overclock the 200MHz FSB from the BIOS, but as long as I go past 223MHz, the BIOS seems to reset the clock speed back to 200MHz. I've tried adjusting the NB voltage and the Vcore voltage, but I can't seem to get anything higher than 224MHz. At 15x, the clock speed is about 3.36GHz max.

I've been reading forums and sites like anandtech that have successfully OCed this proc up to 4GHz with the HSF. Is there any reason why I'm getting nowhere near even 3.5 or 3.6GHz?

Thanks very much in advance for helping this newbie! :thumbsup:

Comments

• lemonlimelemonlime Canada Member
    edited February 2006
    knoxknocks wrote:
    hi, i just set up a new rig and was trying some OC (OC newbie here)

my setup is:

Intel 930 3.0GHz
    MSI 945P Neo2-F Mobo
    4 x 1GB VS1GB533D2 DDR2-533 Corsair Dual Channel
    MSI 7800GT 256MB PCIe

I've been trying to overclock the 200MHz FSB from the BIOS, but as long as I go past 223MHz, the BIOS seems to reset the clock speed back to 200MHz. I've tried adjusting the NB voltage and the Vcore voltage, but I can't seem to get anything higher than 224MHz. At 15x, the clock speed is about 3.36GHz max.

I've been reading forums and sites like anandtech that have successfully OCed this proc up to 4GHz with the HSF. Is there any reason why I'm getting nowhere near even 3.5 or 3.6GHz?

Thanks very much in advance for helping this newbie! :thumbsup: