Tourney scheduling help

primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' BoopinDetroit, MI Icrontian
edited May 2006 in Community
I have no experience with big tournaments for RTS games such as AOE3 and BFME2.

Approximately how long does, say, a 4 on 4 tournament last? (for AOE3).

Comments

• CrazyJoeCrazyJoe Winter Springs, FL Icrontian
    edited May 2006
    Well I'd say a standard 4v4 game usually takes a couple hours at least... I've played some games that have lasted upwards of 3 hours or more...
  • Sledgehammer70Sledgehammer70 California Icrontian
    edited May 2006
    Hey prime are yopu going to do single play elim? or 3 round matches? like best of 3... I run RTS tournaments left and right, so feel free to pick my brain.
  • primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited May 2006
    Okay, consider your brain picked. Can you educate me? I've never run an RTS tourney :D
    edited May 2006
    just do 1 round elim's which takes 15 to 30 minutes per round. So for 16 players = about 2 hours if they play back to back rounds... 32 players = 2 1/2 hours....
    edited May 2006
    So you don't suggest teams?
    edited May 2006
    Teams are good if we have enough players
  • QCHQCH Ancient Guru Chicago Area - USA Icrontian
    edited May 2006
    Teams are a MUST cuz I suck and need otherts to die with me!!!
  • MountainDewMountainDew Kentwood, MI
    edited May 2006
    QCH2002 wrote:
    Teams are a MUST cuz I suck and need otherts to die with me!!!

i second that...ill be more of a burden than anything else.
  • CrazyJoeCrazyJoe Winter Springs, FL Icrontian
    edited May 2006
    Wow, you guys are really making your cases for people to want you on their teams...
  • GHoosdumGHoosdum Icrontian
    edited May 2006
    For AOE3, I recommend starter decks being required for at least the first round of the tournament. That way everyone starts on theoretically equal footing.
    edited May 2006
    Um I own at BFME2 :)