driver issue? or new computer time!

edited September 2004 in Hardware
hi everyone im new to this scene and hope someone could shed some light on this problem i have with my computer.
when i purchased it about a year ago i had the wrong soundcard drivers (ac'97) were the required ones. before i installed the correct drivers everytime i booted my computer and tried to play a sound the computer would flash a blue screen for 1/2 second and reboot.
now a year on i have recently been geting this blue screen / reboot process
whilst im using it. it can stay on for days or minutes before doing this.
i dont think it is to do with the sound card drivers as they are the same once i used before. i have tried to update these drivers since getting this problem (so it isnt the new drivers) and can play sound perfectly thanks a lot in advance :)

Comments

• edited September 2004
    cmon someone must be able to help me out im desperate here guys!
  • SSR_06SSR_06 Iowa
    edited September 2004
    your're gonig to have to give us more detail than that, such as hardware installed on your cpu.
  • edited September 2004
    SSR_06 wrote:
    your're gonig to have to give us more detail than that, such as hardware installed on your cpu.

amd athalon 2800+xp
    1 gig ddr
    120 gig westerndigital hdd (p)
    20 gig maxtor (s)
    c-media ac97' souncard
    nvidia geforce mx 440
    if u need any more info ask me and ill put it up but thats the best i can do at the minute
  • SSR_06SSR_06 Iowa
    edited September 2004
    k, im guessing that the sound is built into ur motherboard, sometimes what needs to be done is reintall windows. if ur running xp this is very simple. i'm thinking that you are cuz of you hardware config. if u reinstall windows it'll take out any driver conflicts you were having before.
  • edited September 2004
    SSR_06 wrote: