Dual save?

AlphaTrinityAlphaTrinity North Wales, PA
edited January 2008 in Science & Tech
I was wondering if it is possible to save a file (like a word document) to two places on two different hard drives at the same time. Like..hitting the save button after typing new stuff into a document, say example.doc, saves to example.doc on the c: drive and the d: drive.

I'm curious about this because I'm a writer and while I tend to make backups when I write new material into the same document, sometimes I might forget for a week or so and so I have ~20 pages of new material that hasn't been backed up. I would like to be able to hit save (or ctrl+s :)) in Word and have it save to both of my hard drives. If this isn't feasible that's fine, I was just curious if such a method existed :)

Thanks

Does this make me sound lazy? :hiding:

Comments

• JBJB Carlsbad, CA
    edited January 2008
    I'm not too sure about the "double save", but I use Mozy (http://mozy.com/) which backs up any new/modified documents on my computer while it's idle. This way I don't have to remember to back my data up to another drive and I get off site backup.
  • kryystkryyst Ontario, Canada
    edited January 2008
    There is no way of doing that double save thing, well there might be someone some where that's created such a thing, but it's a waste of time.

If you are running windows xp go into your accessories>system tools>backup and just create a backup job that back's up your 'my documents' folder for example to another spot (a backup folder, a usb drive etc...) then go into control panel, scheduler and create a task that runs the backup routine every day.

Doesn't get much easier then that.
  • test_tube_tonytest_tube_tony Dallas TX Member
    edited January 2008
    *sniffs* I smell raid 1...
    edited January 2008