ICLife.Style - 01 - Shoes

BuddyJBuddyJ Dept. of PropagandaOKC Icrontian
edited April 2009 in Style
My friends, the time has come for change. We aren’t the young kids we once were. We’re getting older. We’re building careers, families, marriages, or our own lives. Yes, we’ve changed in so many ways over the years, but we’re also still clinging to some old things that we need to let go.

We’re not in high school anymore. So, why do we dress like it? Perhaps it’s because society lets us get away with it? Or because we don’t know any better? Maybe a little of both.

That’s where ICLife.Style comes in.

The following series will enlighten and hopefully inspire readers to dress in a manner that tells onlookers we’re guys who’ve got it together. Now, I’m no expert and what I say can’t ever be seen as a hard rule, but I’ll do my best to point everyone in the right direction.

Shoes - What to look for

Today, the topic is shoes. What you wear on your feet make a big statement. It’s been suggested that your footwear has a huge impact on how someone sees you after a first impression in the business world. Shoes that look cheap give an impression of apathy. Shoes that are dirty give an impression of sloth. And shoes that are improper for the occasion are just rude. Remember, athletic shoes are for sports. Wear them for sporting purposes only.

What real men need are dressier shoes and good shoes have quality leather uppers. They last a lifetime with proper care and in the long run can be a better investment than buying cheaper shoes that wear out after 18 months of use. Black shoes are considered to be more formal and go with a narrowed variety of attire. Brown shoes are slightly less formal but work with a wider range of colors. But there’s more to shoes than just the color.

Lets look at leather. There are four types of leather, with the quality varying with each type.