Help needed installing a .run file (CentOS 5)

ClutchClutch North Carolina New
edited August 2008 in Science & Tech
I'm trying to install some ATI drivers for a CentOS 5 installation and I'm having a lot of trouble. I have downloaded the file (ati-driver-installer-8-7-x86.x86_64.run), logged in as root and navigated to the file in terminal and typed in the filename which the installation guide says to do, but I get
bash: ati-driver-installer-8-7-x86.x86_64.run: command not found

Any idea on what I am doing wrong? I checked the properties of the file, and checked to all it to be executed as a program. I'm a complete newbie to linux as well.

EDIT: Well I just navigated to the file through the file system and double clicked on it and it seems to be working. I also changed the permissions for others to read and write.

Comments

• shwaipshwaip bluffin' with my muffin Icrontian
    edited August 2008
    # chmod +x ati-driver-installer-8-7-x86.x86_64.run
    # ./ati-driver-installer-8-7-x86.x86_64.run
  • ClutchClutch North Carolina New
    edited August 2008
    Thanks Shwaip. I managed to get the drivers installed, but now CentOS will not load because it says something about server-x graphics settings. I guess I screwed something up along the way of installing the drivers. I'll try to play around with it this weekend. Linux can be so aggravating sometimes.
  • drasnordrasnor Starship Operator Hawthorne, CA Icrontian
    edited August 2008
    http://www.linlap.com/wiki/Configuring+the+fglrx+driver+for+ATI+graphics+chips+in+CentOS+and+RHEL+5
    Generally speaking, you should never install software that isn't maintained by your package manager, especially if it's a core system library or driver.

Also, just out of curiosity, why CentOS?

-drasnor :fold:
  • ClutchClutch North Carolina New
    edited August 2008