Would it get more PPD to use GPU2 than SMP?

revorocksrevorocks England, East Sussex, Hove Member
edited December 2008 in Folding@Home
Hi, I am a complete folding noob and I know nothing about it other than what it is doing.

My specs are
Asus M2N-E SLI
2gb 800mhz ram
AMD Athlon X2 5200+ 2.6ghz
Nvidia 8500GT 512MB at 667/482
core/mem

What would be best as my pc is in my room, I use it and I cant keep it on overnight. Would it be best to just switch on GPU2 folding while im using the PC or afk. Switch to SMP when playing source games and turn off folding when playing Crysis.
Or, is my machine so weak that its more of a waste of electricity than it is helpful.

Can anyone estimate how many PPD I could get?

Thanks.

Comments

• LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian
    edited December 2008
    Alrighty then, Mr. R.Rocks, you caught my attention. Let me do a little digging and I'll get back with you.
    edited December 2008
    You are going to be famous, respected, and wealthy! Well, Sir, I'm not exactly sure about the 'wealthy' part, but anyway, we'll get you Folding. Your system will richly benefit the Folding@Home program as well as your brothers in arms in Team 93?

I recommend for your system:

1. GPU2 client "Windows XP/2003/Vista GPU System tray client (installer msi." Your video card will handle this without any problems. This client version has a pause/resume feature that you access by right clicking the System Tray icon. Works perfectly, easy to install. Turn it off at night and you'll still be able to complete the projects with time to spare.

2. Install Nvidia (CUDA) drivers 180.60. These drivers allow your GPU Folding to be resourced almost 99% to the GPU itself, requiring almost no CPU core resources.

If all that goes well for you, then consider running the 6.23 Windows SMP client on your CPU. I run multi-GPU plus SMP on all my systems.