Dell Inspiron 531 Upgrading

DarakDarak Whitchurch
edited February 2010 in Hardware
Heya,

I unwhititngly bought a Dell Inspiron 531 for £450 last october not realising that it would be hard to upgrade and i would have no information to work with on the motherboard.

I am not a computer expert (yet) but id like to think im getting good :). Basically my quick specs are:

AMD Athalon 4400+ (2.3ghz dual core) (AM2 Socket)
2 GB ram @ 667mhz (DDR2)
Nvidia geforce 8600gt 256mb
22" and 19" on dualview
Windows Vista Home Premium

I play alot of intensive games (Cod4, crysis and WoW atm) and my computer is not coping with this as well as i would like. I need to be able to play games and listen to music or watch TV/films while keeping a good FPS so an upgrade is in order i think.

However the problems i have encounterd relate to the motherboard in the computer. it is an ASUS M2N61-AX. :rant: I cant find any specs anywhere on this blasted dell custom made motherboard. I want to put in the best processor it will fit so i looked at some of this AMD phenom things but i am not sure whether they will fit. I also wanted to put in some ram (4gb DDR2 @ 1066mhz) but again i am unsure whether it will fit. And i will be putting in a nvidia geforce 8800gt 512.

Also i want to upgrade the case but i dont know whether this is an ATX motherboard so compatability may be an issue along with it only haveing a 350W power supply (is this too low?)

I would appreciate any help you could offer or suggestions.

Thanks
Darak

Comments

• fuctifinofuctifino "I ain't sure Toto, but it doesn't look much like Kansas to me"
    edited November 2008