Advice on Linux

ledbetterledbetter Chattanooga, TN
edited September 2009 in Science & Tech
Does anyone have any experience with the Linux OS? In particular, SUSE Linux. My instructor told me she's been using it for years and it has a very user-friendly interface. I've just stared researching the details, so any advice is welcome.

Comments

• lunchb0xlunchb0x Lansing, MI New
    edited September 2009
    I've been using linux as my desktop OS for about 4 years, I've used OpenSUSE in the past and it's not bad for an RPM based distro. Personally, I prefer apt based systems (Debian, Ubuntu, etc), but that's more personal preference than anything.

Beautiful thing about Linux is that if you don't like the distro you're on, there is nothing stopping you from wiping clean and starting over.
  • ledbetterledbetter Chattanooga, TN
    edited September 2009
    Debian has a lot to offer, but has an insane amount of packages. Do you have any advice about downloading and installing.
  • ardichokeardichoke Icrontian
    edited September 2009
    Lots of packages is a good thing, means that whatever software you're looking for is more likely to be prepackaged and just a single command away from installing. Most of the packages are only installed if you request it. If this is your first foray into Linux, I strongly suggest you consider Ubuntu (or one of it's derivatives such as Kubuntu or Mint) as they are much easier to install and get up and running.
    edited September 2009
    Ubuntu is ready to boot from my flash drive. I've never installed a second OS on a PC. Is there anything I should know before hand?
    edited September 2009