How do I export Flash values into an Excel document and vice versa?

XxSaberxXXxSaberxX Singapore
edited November 2009 in Internet & Media
Let's say I'm a doctor and I want to use keep track of my patients' particulars and other details in an Excel Spreadsheet, details like when was their last visit, what allergies they have etc. I want to make something like a form where I can call and insert values from/into the Excel document using Flash. Any known way to do it?

Comments

• ButtersButters CA Icrontian
    edited November 2009
    In theory you could do it. You will have to use other technologies in between before the data reaches the ultimate destination, the Excel document. However, this would be terribly inefficient.

If you must use Flash, you might as well have it write to a database and then export the data into Excel, or within Excel connect to the database using ODBC.

Access would be a better solution if its something that is localized. You'd have a form and data up and running in minutes.
  • XxSaberxXXxSaberxX Singapore
    edited November 2009
    hmmm...never really used access before...is there a Openoffice version of it? or what other solutions do you suggest if i want to make such an application if i wanted to modify excel spreadsheets without actually opening the excel file?
  • shwaipshwaip bluffin' with my muffin Icrontian
    edited November 2009
    Is there a reason you're set on using/modifying excel spreadsheets?
    edited November 2009
    XxSaberxX wrote:
    is there a Openoffice version of it? or what other solutions do you suggest if i want to make such an application if i wanted to modify excel spreadsheets without actually opening the excel file?

Yes its called Base. Essentially the same functionality as Access. There are wizards and sample DB's that will probably do what you need to do with minimal changes.