When and How Should I "Clean" my WC'ed System??

jedihobbitjedihobbit Central Virginia, USA New
edited February 2010 in Hardware
Okay I'm a noob to water cooling and have a couple of basic maintenance questions.....here is the “total” system

CASE: SilverStone SOG1
PSU: Enermax MODU82+
MOBO: Biostar TA760G AM2+
CPU: AMD PII X3 720BE
HSF: Cuplex XT di
GPU: Evga 8800GTS w/AquagraFX 8800
MEMORY: TWIN2X2048-8500C5DF
Primary HDD: Seagate 7200.10 ST380815AS 80GB
Secondary HDDs: 2 x WD5000KS-00MNB0 400GB
Optical Drive 1: Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7200S

And am using an external rad & pump setup from AquaComputer a Aquaduct 240 PRO Mark II
1. How often should a 24 / 7 system be “flushed”?
2. What is a recommended method of “flushing”?
3. Does “topping off” make a difference as long as you’re using the “original” coolant?
4. What is a good way to clean “stained” copper? (See pix below)

DCWVGPU1.jpg

Comments

• MAGICMAGIC Doot Doot Furniture City, Michigan Icrontian
    edited February 2010
    Depends on if you use an anitmicrobial addative. I did when i water cooled and flushed the system once a year. If not you might have to do it 2 or 3 times to prevent build up.

As for cleaning warm water/vineger/lemon/baking soda solution is what i always used. Just a old toothbrush and scrub the internals of the blocks/pumps off. I would fill the radiator with the solution and let it sit a few hours, then flush it until the water you flush out of it is clear/clean. Do a final rinse with distilled water before puting the system back together.
  • PetraPetra Palmdale, CA USA
    edited February 2010
    jedihobbit wrote:
    And am using an external rad & pump setup from AquaComputer a Aquaduct 240 PRO Mark II
    Great, wetted aluminum... *sigh*
    1. How often should a 24 / 7 system be “flushed”?