how do i protect computer, plz help!!!!

edited February 2010 in Science & Tech
i am new to owning a computer and all ready i have had issues. I currently have AVG free but nothing else. i was wondering what software is best and what i need to protect my computer. I've heard about adding a personal firewall but dont know what any of this means. please help

Comments

• adarryladarryl No Man Stands So Tall As When He Stoops To Help a Child. Icrontian
    edited February 2010
    Lots of possibilities and opinions here but I will give you mine. I also run AVG. However, I also use SpywareBlaster: http://www.majorgeeks.com/SpywareBlaster_d2859.html and Spybot: http://www.majorgeeks.com/SpyBotSearch_&_Destroy_Tools_d2471.html.
    I use Malwarebytes as a routine scanner: http://www.majorgeeks.com/Malwarebytes_Anti-Malware_d5756.html.

Depending on your operating system, you may be able to use Microsoft's Windows Defender.

I don't use a software firewall because I hate nag screens and prompts. However, that is just me. Form your own opinion on that. I am behind a hardware router configured to block pings from the WAN. You may be able to do this depending on your internet connection setup.

However, NONE of these will protect you from human error (bad judgment on the internet). I will use my brother-in-law as an example (he's impulsive and reckless as hell; I am always purging his computer of some type of malware). Though he has the same software installed as I do, his system is nearly always infected with something while mine is not. The difference is in how we use our pc's. I told him the following but he doesn't listen:
    1: Avoid Chatrooms on-line
    2. Avoid Limewire
    3. Avoid Warez
    4. Avoid Wild Tangent gaming
    5. Avoid accepting on-line prompts to "download trial software"--Ask for guidance in forums like these first
    6. Avoid "steamy" websites.

To each his own.
  • SPIKE09SPIKE09 Scatland
    edited February 2010