Help on scripts please

the-keeperthe-keeper New Zealand
edited May 2010 in Science & Tech
My friend has challanged me to create a script that will autorun and fill folders on your desktop with shortcuts to spider solitair but have a simple over ride, can someone help me on this one??? =] thanks :rockon:

Comments

• clifford_cooleyclifford_cooley Arkansas, USA Member
    edited May 2010
    Errrr - What is the point in having multiply shortcuts to the same simple game?
  • QCHQCH Ancient Guru Chicago Area - USA Icrontian
    edited May 2010
    And if it's a challenge from a friend, us helping you learn to script is kind of cheating. I'll give you a hint. GOOGLE Batch Scripting and copy function. Scheduled task.... BINGO, you have an automated copy script.
  • the-keeperthe-keeper New Zealand
    edited May 2010
    haha, thanks. im only new to this whole scripts thing, but i want to learn everything i can, any ideas where to start =]
    edited May 2010
    i surprised at the quick resomnse too thanks =]
    edited May 2010
    oh and, i dont mind cheating =]
    edited May 2010
    Download notepad++. Its a really good program that helps with programming.
    Create folder you want to put the shortcuts into.
    Find the location of the item you want to locate (solitare shortcut).
    Open notepad++
    Do a FOR loop for, say, 50 time iterations.
    Inside the FOR loop, COPY from where ever the shortcut is to where you want it.
    Save the file as, say, "funny.bat" WITH the quotes. Make sure it actually ends with bat not txt.

Now that you have the script, you need to do one of two things. Either put the script in the "Startup" folder OR go fancy and have the script run on a schedule. To do that you need to find "Task Scheduler" and create a task that runs the script.
    edited May 2010