Why I don't buy used games

LincLinc OwnerDetroit Icrontian
edited June 2010 in Science & Tech
After a conversation with a local comic book store owner, Brian reflects on why you shouldn't buy used games.
Want to support brick-and-mortar stores and huge profit margins? Go ahead and buy 'em. Want to support game development? Buy new.

Comments

• edited February 2007
    I agree with you to a point Brian. I too prefer to support the developers but prices for video games are getting out of control. I have a hard time justifying $60 per game for PS3 and XBox360 games that in my opinion don't offer anything revolutionary besides eye candy. Being a software developer myself I can appreciate the hard work that goes into the process, but as a paying customer the price is just too high for a lot of the games being released. If every game that was released was a Halo, or Final Fantasy quality I would probably just suck it up and pay the $60, however far few games are anywhere near this quality.

Maybe slouching sales will force the not so stellar developers to produce a better product. Not that I'm defending stores like GameStop but there isn't a whole lot of margin on new video game sales, so the majority of there revenue is probably made from used games sales. I don't know about anyone else but when I want a particular game I want to pick it up ASAP. I don't want to pay shipping (and pay even more) and wait a few days for the game to arrive. If buying a used game every now and then means keeping stores like GameStop open so be it.
  • MadballMadball Fort Benton, MT
    edited February 2007
    I prefer to buy used if I don't know if the game is great or not. It makes me feel better if I buy a bad game, if I know I paid less than full price for it. Of course there aren't too many used Wii games out there and when I do find one they're only about $5 less than full, new price. In that case I'll just buy the new game.