Install Windows 7 from USB using Windows XP

Comments

• edited August 2010
    I've tried this several times even using the Windows USB/DVD tool and it continually spits 'Disk Read Error' at me ... Why?!
  • primesuspectprimesuspect Beepin n' Boopin Detroit, MI Icrontian
    edited August 2010
    You probably have a bad disk
  • edited August 2010
    hi. i am not tech savvy and i need your help. i have a new computer set at home and it has no OS. completely new. specs are core2duo e7500, 2gb ram ddr2 apacer, asus p5kplam epu board, dvdr writer,320gd hdd and 1gb geforce 9500 vid card. i don't know it it's fast. it is for documentation purposes. anyway, i have my windows 7 ultimate installer in an 8gb-usb drive. how do i install the OS? because in this guide, it is for computers with existing programs. thanks. badly need your help, guys. i need a step-by-step process. thanks again
  • RyderRyder Kalamazoo, Mi Icrontian
    edited August 2010
    Put the USB stick in the PC, boot the PC into the bios (usually you press delete to enter the bios, but it may be F2, F10, or F12 also), make sure the USB stick is the 1st boot device, then save and reboot the system.

Once it boots, follow the prompts to install Windows like you normally would.
  • edited August 2010
    Thank you, RyderOCZ. OH, this is my first time to ever install an OS. Obviously scared. If it fails, may I be able to do it again?

As they mentioned above, I need to download some ISO softwares. I do not need to do that since my set is new, do I?

I also need to have a partition in my 320gb hdd into 160gb each. I think that happens in the installation process and I have to check the OPTIONS part. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Thank you.
  • edited August 2010
    Geez... Lost my follow up comment.. Anyway...

Thank you for that RyderOCZ.
    It is my first time ever to install an OS.

If by any chance the installation would be a failure, it is possible to do it again, right?