Why are people fat?

Comments

• mertesnmertesn I am Bobby Miller Yukon, OK Icrontian
    edited March 2011
    Annes wrote:
    If that's the discussion we're having, I'm fat due to absolute lack of willpower.
    Ditto. It's not so much my food choices at this point. I'm just lazy. I won't exercise without motivation. Fortunately there's a 4th degree black belt at work who has been teaching a small class after hours. Got started with that in January and love it. Provides about six hours of training per week. Now if I'd just practice at home...
  • colacola part legend, part devil... all man Balls deep Icrontian
    edited March 2011
    Hmm, when I was back in high school and swimming I burned energy much faster than I could it in. I could eat 2 plates packed edge to edge with noodles and sauce and be hungry an hour later and so I'd eat half a gallon of ice cream. I was still ripped out of my mind, and didn't gain any weight.

Now I'm a college student and am not active much at all. I skip breakfast most mornings, eat a small lunch, and usually try not to eat much at dinner (the dinners here can get pretty nasty). It's strange, I haven't gained or lost more than 5 pounds in the past 3 years of my life (I've stayed almost exactly on the magic number of 175) and I've had radically different diets over that time. I feel like my body has been naturally adjusting to my activity level and my food intake has matched that. I can also barely finish one full plate of spaghetti now. I still love eating, but I just don't eat as much.