Buying a Tablet

NemikanNemikan Icrontian
edited December 2011 in Science & Tech
So far I don't own a smart phone, or tablet, or any online mobile device. Just a normal phone since I'm normally always on my computer. Now I'm communiting to Chicago via the Metra, I'm in need of something to do on the train. Ideally I'm wanting to surf the web, read some online articles, watch movies, and play some games. The question is what to buy, I'm thinking a Tablet since I'd prefer the larger screen.

Now what tablet to buy... I don't currently use any apple products (that includes Itunes) since I tend to play a lot of games. I'm also a programmer, so I'd prefer something that I could program such as Java or C#.

What would you recommend?

Comments

• ThraxThrax 🐌 Austin, TX Icrontian
    edited November 2011
    7" tablet: Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.0 Plus
    10"+ tablet: Transformer Prime in december.
  • IlriyasIlriyas The Syrupy Canadian Toronto, Ontario Icrontian
    edited November 2011
    I don't own a tablet, nor do I know enough about them (From a technical standpoint) to give a proper suggestion, but from my own experience I'd suggest staying away from an Ipad, they're just too fragile from what I've seen of them there are far better available.

(Isn't there a Blackberry tablet or something?)
    edited November 2011
    Yeah, but the application ecosystem for the PlayBook blows.
  • AnnesAnnes Tripped Up by Libidos and Hubris Alexandria, VA Icrontian
    edited November 2011
    Thrax, why the Galaxy Tab over the Kindle Fire?
  • Mt_GoatMt_Goat Head Cheezy Knob Pflugerville (north of Austin) Icrontian
    edited November 2011
    Annes wrote:
    Thrax, why the Galaxy Tab over the Kindle Fire?

choke, choke, cough, wheeze! Galaxy over everything else, everything else over K F. (wow, now I can breath again)
  • AnnesAnnes Tripped Up by Libidos and Hubris Alexandria, VA Icrontian
    edited November 2011