Quicktime problems--"bad public movie atom" message

LaRockLaRock TX, USA
edited December 2011 in Science & Tech
I love to watch film trailers, and Quicktime is the program I normally use. I recently got a new Dell PC and every time I click on a Quicktime link I either get a "broken" image of the Quicktime logo, or I get a message saying something to the effect of "this file could not be played because it contained a bad public movie atom."

I have no idea how to fix this problem, and I am a relative novice when it comes to computer language. So please be gentle!

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me out.

Comments

• edited November 2005
    Hi,
    Atoms are the pieces of QuickTime files that hold information.
    A movie atom is one that holds movie information.
    A public atom is one that is to be read by the player, and presented, as opposed to internal bookkeeping information.
    Obviously, you had a bad public movie atom.
    Seems like it simply got corrupted in transit. Try zipping it up or something and see if that fixes it.
    If it says you have a bad public movie atom than try re-zipping it a few more times. If it still says that than I'm going to assume the problem is with the movie itself.
  • JChretienJChretien Vancouver, BC, Canada
    edited November 2005
    Im sorry, but how will zipping fix a corrupted file? its like shoving a wool into a ziploc bag and expecting a scarf to come out. You're better off re-downloading whatever it was you were trying to open, and see if that helps.
  • LaRockLaRock TX, USA
    edited November 2005
    Thanks for the advice, but no luck. For example, I'm trying to see the trailer for 'The Fountain' on the Apple Movie Trailers site. No matter the size of the trailer, I can't open any of them without getting that message. Quicktime files I've downloaded play just fine, but ones I'm trying to open won't work at all.

Should I reinstall Quicktime? Any other ideas?

Thanks again!