[BLOG] IT'S ALIVE! (or: what the hell does Dan do anyway?)

MyrmidonMyrmidon Baron von PuttenhamCalifornia Icrontian
edited November -1 in Community
So today, after nigh on ten months of bashing my head against the wall, one of my transistors gave results.

Wait, what?

I'm a grad student (actually a concurrent student, but it's easier to just say "grad student") in organic electronics. My thesis is going to be in organic thin film transistors (OTFTs), which is the little stepbrother that OLEDs and OPVs make fun of when he's not around. I've been working since sometime in July on getting this stuff to work with no results and a lot of frustration.

I was beginning to suspect the whole phenomenon of organic transistors was a nobel-prize milking conspiracy - fake experiments with little 'by the way, this experiment is REALLY hard, so don't try it at home' caveats. I'd been reading papers and trying various things to get a process hashed out - ten months for a PROCESS to make my test vehicle, actual research be damned! - to no avail. Of course, I'm a stone-cold BAD researcher: I'm clumsy and careless in the lab and I forget stuff I've read out of papers immediately. NOT the kind of guy you want in a lab.

So naturally I was ECSTATIC when my device responded with current-voltage curves. Maybe this stuff is real after all!

Unfortunately, the test destroyed the device. So I have no evidence other than the data, which I could have easily faked. I'd probably better start adding a few 'this is too hard to try at home' statements to my thesis...

//edit: pictures are up. See part 2.

Comments

• BuddyJBuddyJ Dept. of Propaganda OKC Icrontian
    Pix.
  • ZuntarZuntar North Carolina Icrontian
    definitely pix.
  • Trippe Pix.
  • LeonardoLeonardo Wake up and smell the glaciers Eagle River, Alaska Icrontian