Running a 5k

RexxarRexxar Maryland Icrontian
edited February 2012 in Fitness
Hello IC!
I was wondering if anyone on the forums likes running 5ks and would be interested in posting their times here. As time goes on and people keep posting what their last 5k was, we can see everyone’s progress, discuss techniques, and share running stories.

Also, I have been running XC for three years and if there are any questions concerning what you should do if a specific area hurts, I will try my best to assist you or give you tips on striding, breathing, and overall positioning your body. My hope is as time goes on we can all get together to run at a competitive festival or area like Warrior Dash, or Run for Autism and have a lot of fun.

Now, I know at first running at least 1 mile might be difficult for the ones just starting, because I was like that my freshmen year of high school. I have run now for over 3 years and my best 5k time was 19:45. I am currently getting into shape for Track and XC in the fall. My advice to those new to running is:

1. See what your limit is and go on from there.

2. Make sure to get some decent running shoes. Talk to the professionals that tell you what specific shoes you should wear because it may hurt you in the long run if you don’t. If you have flat feet, make sure you tell them that as well.

3. Find an interesting place where a national park or trail is. It is very boring to run a couple of miles on a track and you may do worst because of it.

4. Bring music! Put your headphones on and play your favorite playlists. It has been proven that runners perform better by 15% with music!

5. After every run, make sure to stretch afterwards and ice your legs. If you don't ice you may get shin splints and trust me you don't want that (Ask Preacher). You should be running at least 3-4 times a week and if you feel like adding more days then do so. However, you need at least 1 day for legs to recover otherwise you can seriously injure yourself.